Sarangani lies in the southernmost part of Mindanao. It is composed of the coastal municipalities of Maitum, Kiamba, Maasim, Alabel, Malapatan, and Glan and the upland municipality of Malungon. The inhabitants of the place are called Sarangans.

The Division of Sarangani was formerly part of South Cotabato. It was until the Province of Sarangani was created as a separate province by virtue of the Republic Act 7228. On August 6, 1993, the Division of Sarangani was established.  

The following have served as Schools Division Superintendent of SDO Sarangani: 

SDS Leticia E. Cabang, Ph.D. (1993 – 2003)

SDS Nenita T. Golez, Ph.D. (2003) 

SDS Deborah A. Adrales, CESO VI (2004 – 2011)

SDS Allan G. Farnazo, CESO V (2011) 

SDS Isagani S. Dela Cruz, CESO V (2011 – 2016)

SDS Crispin A. Soliven, Jr., CESE (2016-2019) 

SDS Gildo G. Mosqueda, CEO VI (2020-2023) 

SDS Ruth L. Estacio, PhD., CESO VI (2023-Present) 

The Division has 23 supervisory districts with 5,856 manpower. There are 297 elementary schools with a total enrollment of 88,932 pupils and 14,240 pre-schoolers. It has 33 secondary schools, including one regional science high school and six technical-vocational schools. There are also 16 private pre-schools, 17 elementary, and 10 secondary private schools.

Share this